Why is a ninety nine called a ninety nine?

Two commonly held beliefs are they were named by Italian immigrants in honour of "the boys of '99", the wave of Italian World War 1 conscripts born in 1899. Alternatively, it was in honour of the Italian King's elite guard, a specially chosen squad of 99 men. Anything special would be known as a 99.