How do you know if a fish is a girl or a boy?

Males are often slimmer but larger-bodied than females and are more vibrantly coloured. The dorsal and anal fins of the male are more pointed, larger and more flowing than in the female. In many species, the male will display egg-shaped markings on the anal fin known as egg spots.