What does shimmy timbers mean?

Shiver me timbers" is an exclamation in the form of a mock oath usually attributed to the speech of pirates in works of fiction. Its first appearance in print was in Captain Frederick Marryat’s 1834 novel, Jacob Faithful (“I won’t thrash you Tom. Shiver me timbers if I do”).