How is mozzarella cheese made?

The process of making mozzarella is called pasta filata. The milk is incubated with a whey starter containing thermophilic bacteria and then rennet is added to form the curds.The curds are stretched, kneaded until smooth, and then formed into round balls to make fresh mozzarella cheese.