What is the trident nuclear weapons program?

Trident is a nuclear submarine program that consists of 4 nuclear submarines that take turns in patrolling the waters around the UK at all times. The Submarines carry missiles & nuclear warheads which can be deployed at short notice in the event of the UK being attacked by nuclear weapons.