Who wrote ask the fellows who cut the hay?

George Ewart Evans wrote “Ask the Fellows Who Cut the Hay” in 1956. It is a vivid portrait of the rural past of Blaxhall, a remote Suffolk village, in the time before mechanization changed the entire nature of farming, the landscape and rural life for good.