How many foundingfathers were there?

In 1973, historian Richard B. Morris identified seven figures as key Founding Fathers for the United States: These are, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, and George Washington.