Where does the expression sent to coventry come from?

The origins of this phrase are unknown, although it is probable that events in Coventry in the English Civil War in the 1640s play a part. Royalist troops that were captured in Birmingham were taken as prisoners to Coventry, which was a Parliamentarian stronghold.