Why is pink floyd called pink floyd?

Pink Floyd first called themselves "The Pink Floyd Sound" in late 1965. Original vocalist and guitarist Syd Barrett derived the name from the given names of two blues musicians he had in his record collection; Pink Anderson and Floyd Council.