Why don't americans have kettles?

If you're wondering why Americans don't often have kettles in their homes as Brits do, it's because they have a lower voltage in the States. While in the UK, our homes operate on 220 and 240 volts, in the States, they have 100 volts meaning electric kettles heat up slower.