Where did the name blackfriday come from?

The term "Black Friday" was actually first associated with a financial crisis. Years later the post-Thanksgiving discounted sales period became associated with the name. Many shops were "in the red" throughout most of the year but they later "went into the black" the day after Thanksgiving.