Why does the welsh flag have a dragon?

The flag has the red dragon of Cadwaladr, King of Gwynedd along with the Tudor colours of green and white. The red dragon was included as a supporter of the Tudor royal arms to signify their Welsh descent. It was officially recognised as the Welsh national flag in 1959