Why do we have goosebumps?

When you're cold, or you experience a strong emotion, such as fear, shock, anxiety, or even inspiration, goosebumps can suddenly pop up all over the skin. They occur when the tiny muscle located at the base of each hair follicle contracts, causing the hair to stand on end.