What's the difference between a body warmer and a gillette?

Basically the same type of clothing, a waist length, straight sided, sleeveless jacket either padded, woollen or fleece worn over or under a jacket to provide additional warmth. Conflicting reports as to the origins of the word but could come from the French for cardigan which is le gilet.