What does fortune do on an axe in minecraft?

When used on leaves it increases the odds of receiving apples, sticks and saplings. On vines it increases the odds of receiving a drop, with the highest rate of 100% with a Fortune III Axe. On grass and ferns it does not increase the chance of a drop, increases the drop by a factor of 2.