Why did the queen have two birthdays?

King George II was born in November in 1683. The King didn't want his subjects to face the harsh cold for a public gathering. Hence, in 1748, he decided to celebrate his birthday on a bright summer day in June. That tradition continues and therefore the Queen has two birthdays.