How do you cook licorice?

Put the liquorice in a pan with 200ml water, bring to a boil, turn the heat low and simmer very gently, stirring often, for 15 minutes, until the liquorice has mostly melted and you have a dark syrup (don't worry if it doesn't dissolve completely). Turn off the heat but leave in the pan.