How long does it take to cook mackerel?

Mackerel fillets, if pan frying, takes around 2-4 minutes, depending on the thickness of the fillet. Whole mackerel, if baking, roasting or barbecuing, stuffed with aromatics and herbs, takes around 20–30 minutes in a medium oven.