What happened in the chernobyl disaster?

The Chernobyl disaster was a nuclear accident that occurred on Saturday 26 April 1986, at the No. 4 reactor in the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant, near the city of Pripyat in the North of Ukraine, which was then in the Soviet Union.