Who were the tudors?

The Tudors were originally from Wales but weren't exactly royal, the Tudor dynasty began with a rather scandalous secret marriage between a royal attendant by the name of Owain Ap Maredydd ap Tudur and the dowager queen Catherine of Valois who was the widow of King Henry V