What's a positive apostrophe?

An apostrophe can be used to show that one thing belongs to or is connected to something. This is called a possessive apostrophe. Let's take a look at some examples. The cat's tail was fluffy. Cat is a singular noun so you need to add an apostrophe and "s" to show that the tail belongs to the cat.