How long is a cotton pickin' minute?

It’s a figurative minute, with cotton-pickin’ being a euphemistic expletive, so “Wait a cotton-pickin’ minute!” is equivalent to “Wait a darn minute!” However, due to the history of cotton picking, the phrase is probably best avoided to avoid the risk of inadvertently causing offence.