What does heart trending mean?

Heartrending means heartbreaking: it causes grief and sadness. The heart is the organ associated with emotions, and to rend something is to tear it, so heartrending things tear up your heart: not literally, but because they make you sad. Anything that makes you cry is probably heartrending.