What's a cake sniffer?

In Lemony Snicket's "A Series of Unfortunate Events", a wealthy young villain Carmelita Spats insults the Baudelaire orphans by calling them cakesniffers. Presumably the insult is an antonym of "cake eaters", an insult reserved for rich, spoiled children.