Why is the dragon on the welsh flag?

The current, welsh flag, was officially adopted in 1959, but the reason for the dragon is lost in myth and history. One legend has it that Romano-British soldiers carried a red dragon banner as they marched back to Rome, in the fourth-century. Others, link it, to Uther Pendragon, of Arthurian legend