How long does it take to make roast potatoes?

About 1 hour. Drain in a colander, then add a sprinkling of flour and salt and shake the colander to roughen the edges of the potatoes. Tip the potatoes onto the hot baking tray, then coat in the hot fat and roast for 1 hr until golden and crispy.