What was the reason for the gunpowder plot?

It was a failed attempt to blow up England's King James I (1566-1625) and the Parliament on November 5, 1605. The plot was organized by Robert Catesby (c. 1572-1605) in an effort to end the persecution of Roman Catholics by the English government.