What is a substitute for cardamom pods?

An equal mixture of cumin and coriander is the perfect replacement for cardamom in spicy dishes such as curries and meat recipes. All three are often used in Indian dishes, and if you have run out of cardamom you can certainly use a little more cumin and coriander in its place.