Why do people laugh when they are tickled?

When touched, the nerves under your skin, or epidermis, send electrical signals to the brain. When we are tickled the somatosensory cortex picks up the signals to do with pressure, but the anterior cingulated cortex analyses them. This part of the brain governs pleasurable feelings causing laughter.