What does haunting us mean?

"Haunting us", means something that hangs about and disturbs you from time to time. You might have a visitation of old fears, suspicions etc.. Often an old fear, or a past embarrassment may haunt you, because those old thoughts keep coming back, or other people keep referring to it.