What does synthesize hormones mean?

Synthesis, in this context, is creating chemical compounds by reaction from simpler materials. Hormones are synthesized by glands in multicellular organisms. An example is human growth hormone, made in the pituitary gland, that stimulates growth, cell reproduction, and cell regeneration in animals