Why do they call a hat trick?

The term "hat trick" is used when a single player achieves three scores in a single game. Its first recorded usage was after a game of cricket when bowler H.H. Stephenson took three consecutive wickets and was awarded a hat. The term migrated to other sports, such as football and ice hockey.