Why is keir starmer a sir?

Appointed Knight Commander of the Order of the Bath (KCB) in the 2014 New Year Honours for "services to law and criminal justice". The knighthood entitles him to be styled as "Sir Keir Starmer"; however, he prefers that people do not use the title "Sir".