How many animals have been on the moon?

No animals have landed on the moon. Numerous animals have been sent into space. In 1968, the Soviet Zond 5 became the first spacecraft to circle the moon, carrying a payload of two Russian tortoises, wine flies, mealworms, plants, seeds and bacteria.