What's root beer?

Root beer is a sweet, typically, non alcoholic, beverage from North America. Although it was made from the root bark of the sassafras tree it no longer is. The drink has a herbal flavour akin to liquorice and dandelion root. Nearest UK equivalent would be; dandelion & burdock.