Who played the mother in the royal family?

Barbara Royle, played by Sue Johnston, is the wife of Jim Royle, mother of children Denise Best and Antony Royle and grandmother of David Keanu Ronan Best, Norma Best and Lewis Royle. Unlike her lazy husband, Barbara has held a job for quite some time, at a local bakery.