What name is given to the first firing of a newly made claypot?

Bisque firing refers to the first time newly shaped clay pots, or greenware, go through high-temperature heating. It is done to vitrify, which means, "to turn it glasslike," to a point that the pottery can have a glaze adhere to the surface.