What is the difference between shortbread and shortcake?

Shortbread is made with 3 ingredients - flour, butter, sugar, in the ratio of 3 to 2 to 1. Shortcake is made with flour, sugar, salt, butter, milk or cream, and sometimes eggs and uses baking powder or baking soda as a raising agent.