Why do we say for pete sake?

“For Pete’s sake” is alternative to saying “for Christ sake” or “for God’s sake”, and according to the Oxford English Dictionary came into use over 1 hundred yrs ago. People do not like using the name of Christ or God in vain and probably substituted the name of Saint Peter as being less offensive.