Why do we have different colored eyes?

Everybody has roughly the same amount of melanocytes but our genes determine how much of a pigment, called melanin, they produce. It's the same pigment that determines skin colour and the more we produce, the darker the colour. So a person with dark skin also has darker, browner eyes.