Where does the saying center coventry come from?

Being sent to Coventry means being ignored. This phrase originates from a 17th century English Civil War punishment, when Coventry was a Parliamentary stronghold. The king's soldiers were so hated that Royalist prisoners were sent to Coventry, where it was felt they would be ignored.