What is the coldest day in the year?

The winter solstice is the shortest day of the year and when the sun is the lowest in the sky. Therefore, we get the lowest amount of energy, or insolation, from the sun on the solstice. As of December 21, our normal high is 29 while our normal low is 12 (using Waterloo's data.