How do you stop a fire alarm?

Using a tea towel, fan the smoke detector to blow away any lingering smoke or steam. For industrial fire alarms, see the fire control panel and follow the instructions on the lcd screen. To remove a smoke detector, use a flat head screw driver to pop the clip of the smoke detector.