How do i open a stuck jar?

One can try placing a doubled up tea towel over the jar lid, then try undoing it again. The tea towel often enables one to get extra leverage and a much more firm grip without hurting ones hands. This tip is also useful for unscrewing the top from plastic milk bottles when opened for the first time.