Why is a slow worm not a snake?

Slow worms are lizards that have evolved into a legless form making them better suited to there usual environment of burrowing through leaf litter or soft earth. They are distinguished from snakes amongst other things by their ability to shed their tails when attacked and blink with their eyelids.