What is zombie attack?

In computing, a zombie is a computer connected to a network that has been compromised by a hacker, a virus or a Trojan. It can be used remotely for malicious tasks. ... They are also used in DDoS attacks in coordination with botnets in a way that resembles the typical zombie attacks of horror films.