What is pontefract acid?

The active ingredient of "Pontefract Cakes," is glycyrrhizic acid. In 2004, the European Commission recommended limiting consumption of "Glycyrrhizic acid." to 100 mg or less per day. Consuming about 200grams (7.1oz) daily, has led to dangerously low potassium levels and subsequent muscle failure.