Who is the first avatar?

Wan was the first avatar who lived ten thousand years prior to Avatar Korra's time. After getting banished from his home he learned to coexist with the spirits deciding to bring balance between them and the rest of mankind, a quest that eventually led to him becoming the first Avatar