How do you cut your nails?

Soften the nails. Gather the proper tools. To trim your fingernails, cut almost straight across the nail. To reduce your chances of getting an ingrown toenail, cut straight across when trimming your toenails. Smooth uneven or rough edges using a nail file. Leave your cuticles alone.