Is nissan japanese?

The name Nissan originated in Japan, when founder Yoshisuke Aikawa became president of Nihon Sangyo in 1928. Nissan expanded beyond its Japanese roots from there, and officially came to UAS and UK as Datsun. Nissan is now 43% owned by Groupe Renault.